Southwark & Tate Modern

Uncategorized May 5, 2015

IMG_9287IMG_9344IMG_9316IMG_9339IMG_9358IMG_9370IMG_9280IMG_9278IMG_9423IMG_9444IMG_9458

Jumper: An Other Stories / Jeans: Rag & Bone / Trainers: Topshop X Adidas / Socks: Opening Ceremony X Happy Socks

Photo: Tanya Krot / Stephanie

Hello friends,

As I write to you, I have returned from an amazing weekend in London (check out my Instagram: @stephieirwin , for more pictures). Despite the beautiful weather, I managed to spend a lot of time indoors. In particular, I relied heavily upon the Underground for my art gallery trips. While travelling to the Tate Modern, we stopped off at SouthWark. The station reminded me of one of my favourite films, Manufactured Landscapes directed by Jennifer Baichwal. Once I saw this film, I developed a fascination with urban photography and the repetition of industrial architecture.

Before you inform me of the meaning behind Lichtenstein’s paintings — I know. It’s quite ironic for a fashion blogger to pose in front of a Lichtenstein. Lichtenstein abhorred mass consumer culture, and the fashion blogger epitomizes this. However, I feel like its an appropriate backdrop for my repetitive urban theme. After all, Lichtenstein deals with meditations upon comic book scenes, which are mass-distributed in a repetitive fashion.

As for the fashion aspect of my trip, I managed to pick up a pair of TopShop X Adidas superstars, which debuted last Thursday. I have tried (and failed) to acquire limited edition trainers so many times, so this feels like a big accomplishment.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s post. Comment below on your favourite galleries in London!

Leave a Reply

