What I Wear: Movie Theatre Layering #trainersontuesday

Uncategorized January 7, 2015

IMG_5432IMG_5425IMG_5438IMG_5441

Photo: Linda Irwin

Hello friends!

I hope you are all well! Personally, 2015 has been going splendidly (despite posting rather irregularly on here, which makes me sad). I’ve been spending all of my time riding, working out, watching hockey (World Juniors anyone?) and applying for jobs. On NYE, I went to an underground deep house party — great way to start the year.

Since I’m about to see a film tonight, I figured I’d dress up, instead of rocking riding gear 99% of the time. We’re going to see the The Theory of Everything , a film about physicist Stephen Hawking. The film is supposed to be amazing — Eddie Redmayne (Burberry model/ Les Mis star) being reason enough to see it.

To stay comfy at the movie theatre, I’m  opting for my favourite Converse! These Converse are quite old, but their metallic fabric has only improved with age.Although a metallic shoe may seem ill-fitting for this look, the metallic texture coordinates with the silver accents on the clutch and the scarf.

For trousers, loose styles are intimidating, but ultimately fool proof. The trousers fall perfectly to cover the upper of the high top, and the high tops themselves prevent any awkward ankle exposure. Additionally, the slim fit of the Converse allow the trousers to fall properly, whereas wider high tops would appear awkward.

To keep warm in the movie theatre, I’ll most likely layer a burgundy hoodie underneath the leather jacket. If crop tops aren’t your style, a baggy tee tucked into these trousers would be equally cool! The key = layers, layers, layers & tailored yet comfortable pieces. Done.

Side note/ advice from a Canadian: If its snowing where you live, opt for flatforms. Flatforms are not only super hip, but they will also prevent your trousers from dragging in the snow. I’m currently coveting these flatforms.

Have you seen The Theory of Everything? What do you wear to the movies? Be sure to comment below. See you Friday (hopefully…hehe).

Update: Film was amazing! Highly recommend!!!

For more frequent updates, follow me on instagram: @stephieirwin

– Steph

What I’m Wearing

*Not all pieces are my own

Trainers: Converse

Leather Jacket: Ted Baker (old season).

Trousers: Babaton @ Aritzia

Scarf: Street Vendor in Turkey

Bralette: TopShop

Necklace: Blue Ruby

Sunglasses: Ray Ban

Clutch: BCBG

Comment 1

Leave a Reply

