How to: Rocking Rainbow Trainers

Uncategorized August 5, 2014

IMG_4136IMG_4137IMG_4139IMG_4140IMG_4143IMG_4144

Rainbow trainers are often seen as daunting to style. When wearing them, one can very easily look like they are trying to be one of two things: 1. An extra in a rap video 2. or a fifth grader. Thankfully, wearing rainbow trainers is far easier than these intimidating shoes lead you to believe. If you follow these three principles, you will never want to take them off.

1. Stick to one colour (besides the rainbow): In my look, I chose blue (which is also featured on the shoes). The various shades of blue in my button down are brought out thanks to the purse, jeans and shoes. If you want the look to be even more simple, feel free to wear all one colour — and have the rainbow trainers as an awesome surprise.

2. Have at least 2 “classic” items in the look: In my look, I chose jeans and a button down as my classic items. These relaxed pieces keep the look within the realm of “normal” and “chill” and outside the realm of Lady Gaga/ Nicki Minaj (unless you’re into that sorta thing, then go ahead :D).

3. Keep the accessories simple: For accessories, I chose a geometric necklace made of clear plastic and a blue purse. The clear plastic necklace gives the look a cool dimension without taking away from principle #1, and the blue purse fully cooperates with principle #1.

With these rules (or guidelines, for Pirates of the Caribbean fans), you can rock rainbow trainers without fear. Fearless? Then do the exact opposite.

What I’m Wearing
Button-down: Ralph Lauren Denim & Supply
Jeans: J Brand
Trainers: Nike 6.0
Necklace: H&M
Bag: Celine Luggage Tote (not actually mine)

Comments 2

  1. fischerregan says on August 7, 2014

    Hey I love your blog! I just did a beauty tag on my blog and tagged you to do it after me! I would love for you to check it out and maybe answer the questions 🙂

    • sirwin17 says on August 7, 2014

      Hello! I’m honoured! I might do it soon, but it does diverge away from the sneaker/fashion styling focus of my blog. I’ll let you know if/when I do it. Thanks for the tag though ❤

Leave a Reply

